NCSPA is a professional organization that supports and advocates for school psychologists across North Carolina to provide comprehensive services that reflect best practices in the field of school psychology.

Welcome parents, educators, leaders, and student support specialists!

We hope that you will find this resource helpful as you fulfill your role in ensuring positive educational outcomes and wellness for all our children and youth. As School Psychologists across North Carolina, we can be part of the solution, no matter the problem!

Special Announcements

NASP Adopts Resolution Supporting Efforts to Prevent Gun Violence
Posted on February 20, 2018 by Digital Media Committee Chair
Bethesda, MD—As part of the National Association of School Psychologists’ (NASP) commitment to ensure all children’s safety, well-being, and ability to thrive in school, at home, and throughout life, NASP has adopted the “Resolution to Support Efforts to Prevent Gun Violence”. The work of NASP is grounded in its mission, professional standards, position statements, resolutions, policies, and advocacy platforms, all of which are guided by research.

According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), nearly 34,000 people die as a result of gun violence each year, approximately two thirds of which are the result of suicide, and for every person who dies, two more are injured. NASP aspires to protect children from gun violence by encouraging and supporting solutions that create safer, healthier schools, homes, and communities.

School psychologists use their expertise in psychology and education to promote school, family, and community environments that are safe and healthy for children. They have specific expertise in mental and behavioral health, the complex causes of violence, effects of exposure to violence and traumatic events on learning and well-being, and risks and interventions for suicide. Like pediatricians and other mental health practitioners, school psychologists routinely screen for access to guns in the home when doing a suicide or threat assessment as a best practice for intervening with at-risk youth.

“Access to firearms is highly associated with increased risk of injury and death among youth,” notes NASP President John Kelly. “And research is clear that exposure to gun violence is highly associated with diminished social, emotional, and academic well-being among youth. It is our responsibility to advocate for the policies and practices that will reduce gun violence.”

The principles articulated in this resolution guide the work of the Association and our advocacy regarding public policy and school safety practices. NASP supports public policies that: support rigorous enforcement of existing gun laws; promotes efforts to improve awareness of gun safety practices; ensures comprehensive background checks; enhances efforts to ensure only appropriate access to guns, including keeping them out of the hands of individuals deemed at risk of hurting themselves and others; elimination of the Dickey Amendment and increased investment in research on gun violence.

NASP is committed to working with policy makers and allied stakeholders to enact effective laws and policies that reduce gun violence and fatalities, and NASP believes that doing so is necessary to helping all children thrive at home, in school, and throughout life.

NASP represents 25,000 school psychologists throughout the United States and abroad. NASP empowers school psychologists by advancing effective practices to improve students’ learning, behavior, and mental health.


For further information, contact: Katherine Cowan, Director of Communications, 301-347-1665, or visit


To download this post as a PDF, click the following link: NASP Adopts Resolution Supporting Efforts to Prevent Gun Violence

Governor's Proclamation!
Posted on November 08, 2017 by Digital Media Committee Chair
It's official! NCSPA has worked with Governor Cooper to get the following proclamation for School Psychology Awareness Week 2017! Download as a PDF here: SPAW.Governor's Proclamation.2017
Advocacy 2017: Facts To Tell Our Story. Know It. Use It.
Posted on November 08, 2017 by Digital Media Committee Chair
Download this infographic as a PDF here: SP Infographic.10.10

See the NC School Psychologists 2017-18 Fact Sheet for more info. It also works as a great advocacy tool when talking to legislators and other stakeholders!
The NCSPA Professional Learning Committee Wants You!
Posted on November 02, 2017 by Digital Media Committee Chair
NCSPA Early Career Award
Posted on October 17, 2017 by Digital Media Committee Chair

The NCSPA Board has again approved the implementation of a drawing to provide an award for one NCSPA member who is in his/her first 4 years as a school psychologist.   This award will consist of 0 to be awarded to assist the winner in attending the NASP Convention which will be held in Chicago, Illinois from February 13th through the 16th 2018.  The process for selecting the award winner will be overseen by the North Carolina NASP Delegate Representative, Amy Ivey.

The criteria for eligibility for this award consists of:
  1. Current member of NCSPA
  2. Working in North Carolina
  3. In the first four years of work as a school psychologist
  4. Agreement to contribute an article to the NCSPA newsletter following attendance at the convention
Anyone interested in entering a drawing for this award would need to complete the following entry form. Paper entry forms are available online ( and can be sent to Amy Ivey via email ( They will also be accepted at the Fall Conference as long as the NCSPA membership of the individual can be confirmed at that time.

At the NCSPA Fall Conference, a special drawing will be held at the Members Meeting to select the winner of this award.  You do not need to be in attendance at the conference or the meeting to receive the award.  Once the winner has their NASP Convention Registration completed, they will be awarded the 0.
View all updates >>

NCSPA on Social Media

4 Steps to Becoming a Culturally Responsive Teacher ...

View on Facebook